Johannes Brahms


Sonata in E flat major

for clarinet (or viola) and piano

Opus 120, No. 2

first movement


Analysis by

Ian Carmalt



Themes and development



Music examples 1

Music examples 2

Author's home page


1997 Ian Carmalt

This essay was completed at Canterbury Christ Church College, as part fulfilment of the degree of Master of Arts of the University of Kent at Canterbury.